Sunday, June 7th – SuperSprint: 250 yd swim, 6 mi bike, 2 mi Run

Total Race Time: 37:14

Overall Female Place: 1

Overall Place: 5 (I think)

Tony Hammat of Peak Racing Team put on the Tributary iteration of the Retro Tri Series, which I didn’t realize until now consists of not just today’s race, but fifteen across the country. This unique series aims to “highlight the allure that triathlon once was” and certainly emphasizes the experience of the race with music, cool swag and even awards for “best dressed” and “best dancer”. Cause let’s just face it–too many triathletes take themselves too darn seriously!!! While you won’t find legitimate bike racks, though, it is a USAT sanctioned even with very official timing.

Coming off of two “A” races at Chattanooga 70.3 and Raleigh 70.3 (well, A and B+, as it turned out), I eagerly signed up for this one and offered to volunteer. Time to have some fun!

Pre Race

I rode my bike on Saturday and struggled through 90 minutes on a flat route. Guess I had, in fact, burned out the legs over the past few weeks! I went to Daria and Christopher’s housewarming party, where many ATCers and their dogs mingled in their spectacular back yard.

Race Day

Woke up super early (this is now normal) and hopped in the car to arrive before check in to help organize check in and body mark athletes. After accidentally employing “alternative” horizontal method on Lisa, I corrected my marking form (can’t trust me to do anything!). It was fun chatting with the participants, as this was many folks’ first!

I also enjoyed hanging out with athletes outside of the “inner circle” of my triathlon network, including a recent friend in tri, Andrei (who took first place overall and set a new course record!!). It was nice, too, spending time physically with many people I know mostly through social media, like Luis Fabian and Jason Bussey.

Warm up

I did some arm circles. That counts, right?

Swim

The swim transpired in a saline neighborhood pool through which we “snaked” up and down the lanes to complete 250 yards.

We lined up along the side of the pool to watch professional triathletes, April Gellatly of AG Multisport Consulting and Justin Park, start their “battle of the sexes”, which was structured differently than we mere Age Groupers. They would complete the swim. Twice. Then the bike. Twice. Then the run. Twice. April would get a seven-minute head start to level the playing field for a true head-to-head battle.

April set out seemingly effortlessly. That girl is strong! Although she looked like she wasn’t trying, she was flying!  Justin hopped in after she finished her second go-round through the serpentine course. He covered the a pool length in like five strokes or something ridiculous. Shortly thereafter the rest of us toed the line in the time trial start. I reluctantly placed myself near the front, certainly not needing to lead, but with a few rabbits ahead to chase on the run…

10 second count down, and it was my turn to hop in! Off I went! Officially one week into my so-called “Swimtervention” I felt stronger than previous swims. Easy to say, though, in a pool for a mere 250 yards! However, I certainly didn’t subject myself nor others to my ungraceful, flopping attempts at flip turns that I had just adopted the day prior. So I was slow at the wall. And my tri shorts pockets filled with water and parachuted. I suppose this is why short course athletes often opt to race entirely in a swim suit…

Thankfully, the saline pool provided enough buoyancy to prevent me from drowning. I had no delusions that I’d pass anyone, but no one caught me, so I’ll chalk it up as a success!

T1

Tried to enter the wrong way and a volunteer directed me to the opposite side. Didn’t you listen to Tony’s crystal clear directions before the start?! I did. But I forgot. While I don’t swim like a goldfish (yet) I certainly have the memory of one!

I had strategically leaned my bike against a pole near “Bike out”. Shoes on. Helmet and shades on. Across the line and on the bike!

Bike

The bike course was a simple six mile out-and-back configuration. It rolled uphill on the way out. I passed a few people, including this 18 year-old chick who will kick some serious rear some day! I caught Lisa, too, who had raced a tough trail half marathon the day before. Beast! Regardless, I thought it was odd that I nabbed her so soon. I later learned experienced mechanical issues.

I saw Justin and April come flying by in the opposite direction. They were hauling! I spied couple more racers, too, before the turn around.

I enjoyed rolling hills mostly downhill on the way back. Woop woop! I kinda wish I had brought my time trial bike rather than the roadie for a bit more speed. But, whatever. This was all for fun anyway!

T2

I nearly missed the turn back to transition (despite a giant cop car with flashing lights obstructing the road beyond haha!). Even if I had wanted to attempt a flying dismount again, the last stretch was uphill and awkward–not conducive to the maneuver.

Gingerly placed (er, I mean kinda threw down) my bike on the ground, shoes on. Grabbed my race belt/visor (JoJo style!) and put ’em on as I headed out on the run. I believe master-photographer/videographer, Luis, captured the transition.

Run

Whoooowee! This run was hiiiiiill-ly! Constant short but steep ups and downs. And lots of turns. Even though it was only two miles, I slowed down on the ascents, focusing on a high cadence and light feet. And I needed the down hills for recovery. Although a “supersprint” this run course favored strength over speed. So I just kept on motoring.

About a mile in, I surprisingly caught Andrew Shanks of Dynamo Multisport (rocking his bright pink speedo–he won best dressed) after Stacy Simms (dressed as wonder woman) encouraged me to get him. I saw Andrei coming back from the last turn around, and he said he thought he broke his ankle. Really? Running super strong for a gimp guy! 

The hills were relentless. So I just knocked em out one by one, knowing they couldn’t go on forever on a two mile course. Up one of those hills I spotted a sign with a left arrow that said “to finish”. Woop woop! Nice downhill home stretch across the line!

Post race

Waited at the finish to watch the other racers cross the line. It was so exciting to see so many people finish their first triathlon–a true accomplishment, indeed! I love watching others get turned on to the sport that I love so much and had blessed me with more than I can write in a supersprint race report!

After awards for “best dancer” and “best dressed”, I collected my 1st Overall Female award, and a ton of unexpectedly awesome swag that accompanied it! Thanks guys!!

I then hopped back in the pool to keep “Swimtervention” alive! Day Seven and counting…

The true success of the day, however, was writing this race report in record speed. (Stay tuned for Raleigh’s, which is still in progress..)

photo(1)