I had the day planned out swimmingly. I’d ride Burnt Mountain with the Atlanta Tri Club, which happens to be north of my Dad’s house in the ‘burbs. On the way home, I’d take advantage of geographic convenience and invite him to his own neighborhood pool so I could swim in a refreshingly outdoor venue while logging some QT with him.

Well, I show up at his house, plop down at the kitchen table, and we start shooting the breeze. And continue to chat for two hours, leaving me no time for a dip before my evening obligations. While many folks may call me out on successfully procrastinating myself out of a swim (which, admittedly, probably contributed), today reminded me of the bigger picture. I was glad I took time to hang out with my dad one-on-one during Father’s Day weekend. Because there is certainly more to life than swimming, biking and running.

And besides. I successfully swam 17 days out of 20, which is pretty darn good–especially for this girl. A day off to allow my body to rest would probably serve me well, anyway. Insert other justifications here…